CLAT-Common law admission test: Score card for Law Admission


Legal Education in India, aim to promote justice rather than simple resolve disputes. The study of law in order to be meaningful has to be in the context of social realities according to the change of time.

CLAT- Common Law Admission Test is a centralised admission test for admission in well-known National Law Universities in India. The test is for admission in to under graduate degree and post graduate degree programs in 14 participating law Universities.

Eligibility for the Under Graduate Program:-

  • Candidate should have not less than 45% mark in Higher Secondary School / Intermediate or equivalent certificate from recognised University
  • 40 % mark for SC/ST

Eligibility for the Post Graduate Program:-

  • Candidate should have not less than 55% mark in LLB/ Integrated LLB or any other equivalent  degree  from a recognised university
  • 50 % mark For SC/ST

Pattern of CLAT  for Under Graduate Program :-

  • Total Marks for the Test : 200
  • Duration of the Examination : 2 Hour
  • Number of multiple Questions : 200

Pattern of CLAT  for Post Graduate Program :-

  • Total Marks for the Test : 150
  • Duration of the Examination : 2 Hour
  • Number of multiple Questions : 50 Marks
  • Long Essay Type Descriptive : 100 Marks

Weightage and subject of the Common Law Admission Test :-

The Process and subject of the Examination test the proficiency in English, GK, mathematics and logical reasoning knowledge of the candidate.

  • English Including Comprehension : 40 Marks
  • General Knowledge and current Affairs : 50 Marks
  • Elementary Mathematics : 20 Marks
  • Legal      Aptitude : 50 Marks
  • Logical Reasoning : 40 Marks

Important Dates for CLAT :-

  • Online Application Form Will Be Accessible from 1st Jan 2014 to 31 st March  2014
  • Accessibility Of Admit Cards/ Hall Tickets : 14th April 2014
  • Date Of Test :11th May 2014
  • Date Of Declaration of Result : 31st May 2014

Fees for the CLAT :-applynow

  • For General/OBC/PWD candidate : Rs 4000/-
  • For SC/ST Candidate : Rs 3500/-

List Of 14  Participating Institute :-

1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
2. National Academy of Legal Study & Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad
3. National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU)
4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)
5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)
6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)
7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)
8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)
9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala (RGNUL)
10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)
11. National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)
12. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)
13. National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)
14. National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam, Guwahati (NLUJAA)

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other subscribers