Naik re-elected as Chairman of IIM Ahmedabad


Anil Manibhai Nayak, the chairman of Larsen & Toubro ltd. has yet again been reappointed as the chairman of IIM Ahmedabad Society and one of its board of governors for the second time in a row. Anil Naik’s three year tenure as the Chairman of IIM-A was supposedly ending on 28th of March this year.

IIM Ahmedabad

Anil Naik, aged 73, has been awarded the Padma Bhushan which is India‘s 3rd highest civilian award, on January 26, 2009. Naik has also received the prestigious Economic Times Awards-Business Leader of the Year’ award, for the year 2008.

Anil Manibhai Naik
Anil Manibhai Naik

According to certain sources, this recent resolution to reappoint Naik was decided during in the board meeting in the month of December last year. Naik who was not willing to be present during the making of this decision is said to have left the board room when this resolution was coined. The board on the other hand seemed to be unanimous in the extension of Naik’s second tenure as the chairman. Naik is the succeeded Vijaypath Singhania as Chairman of the institute and is the first chairman in the history of the institution who was appointed by the institute on its own as part as the new Moa between the Centre and the Institute.

The Ministry of Human Resources Department has also approved of this decision as well.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other subscribers