Nobel Prize Winners 2015


Nobel Prize Winner

Alfred Nobel, the Swedish inventor started the Nobel Prize in 1895. From then, every year it has been one of the most awaited and prestigious award ceremonies where the Norwegian or Swedish community grants this award to recognize advancements in science, cultural or academic fields. The prizes in the field of chemistry, physics and psychology or medicine were awarded first in 1901, but the prize in economic science was started by the central bank in 1968. All the Nobel Laureates reactive a gold medal, a diploma and a sum of money which is decided by the Nobel Foundation.

This year also saw the Nobel Prize being awarded to some extremely talented individuals for their outstanding inventions in the field specified. The Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded to Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonalds for the discovery of neutrino oscillation which shows that neutrinos have mass. In Chemistry, the Nobel Prize was awarded to Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar for the mechanistic study of DNA repair. In Psychology or Medicine, the Nobel was given to William C. Campbell and Satoshi Omura for discovering a therapy to cure infections caused by roundworm parasites and to Youyou Tu for a therapy against malaria.

In literature, the Nobel went to Svetlana Alexievich and the Nobel Peace Prize went to the National Dialogue Quartet for its contribution in the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia as inspired by the Jasmine Revolution 2011. The Nobel is an affirmation of the incredible achievements made by the individual members that take a nation or a society forward and for the benefit of the world as a whole.

Image Courtesy: Google Images

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other subscribers

Rituparna Das
Student Reporter at Linkfried, Rituparna is a student of Yadavpur University, Calcutta. She writes about Education News, Information , announcement From calcutta.