Syllabus For the Civil Service Preliminary Examination


The Preliminary examination is the first step towards the civil service Examination. Civil service Examination is also known as Civil Service Aptitude Test (CSAT).

The preliminary examination is meant for screening for the main test of Civil service Examination. All the qualifying candidates are eligible for the Main Civil Service Examination test. All the question of the preliminary examination is objective type for 200 marks and time length of the Examination is 2 Hours for each paper.

In the year 2013, there are changes of the pattern of the syllabus.

Paper Number Of Question Marks Duration
General Studies Paper I 100 questions 200 Marks 2 Hours
General Studies Paper II 80 questions 200 Marks 2 Hours

Also Read : Are you Preparing for Civil service Examination ?

Syllabus For the Civil Service Preliminary Examination

Syllabus for Paper I

  • History of India and Indian national movement
  • Indian and World Geography
  • Indian Polity and Economic
  • General Science
  • Current events of national and international

Syllabus for Paper II

  • Communication skills
  • Logical reasoning & analytical ability
  • Decision making & problem solving
  • Basic numeracy
  • English language comprehension skills

 Question relating to the English language comprehension skills of class X level , will be tested through passage Form. All the question of the Test will be objective type and multiple choice. For the purpose of Evaluation candidate must have appear both the Paper.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other subscribers

Campustwist is an Education Insider will provide Education News and Information Directly from Institute to Study seekers.