The 87th Academy Awards 2015 – The single biggest event of the year


The 87th Academy Awards (known as the Oscar Awards) ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), honored the best films of 2014 and took place on February 22, 2015, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles (beginning at 5:30 p.m. PST).

images (2)

Infamous Hollywood celebrity and TV star, Neil Patrick Harris who is well known for his roles in “Doogie Howser M.D”, “Harold and Kumar go to White Castle” & ‘How I Met Your Mother’ was the host of the much awaited award ceremony for his first time ever.

Other popular presenters included “Fifty Shades of Grey” star Dakota Harris, the evergreen Jennifer Anniston and our modern day Sherlock, Benedict Cumberbatch.

The ceremony was televised by the American Broadcast Channel in the United States.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Category Winner
Best Picture Birdman
Best Director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (Birdman)
Best Actor Eddie Redmayne  (The Theory of Everything)
Best Actress Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Best Supporting Actor J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)
Best Supporting Actress Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Achievement in Costume Design Milena Canonero (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Best Foreign Language Film Ida (Pawel Pawlikowski) 
Best Live Action Short Film The Phone Call (Matt Kirkby and James Lucas)



Best Documentary Short Subject Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 (Ellen Goosenberg Kent and Dana Perry)
Original Screenplay Birdman
Achievement in Sound Mixing Whiplash (Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins, Thomas Curley)
Achievement in Sound Editing American Sniper (Alan Robert Murray Bub Asman)
Achievement in Visual Effects Interstellar (Ian Hunter, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley and Paul Franklin)
Best Animated Short Feast (Patrick Osborne and Kristina Reed)
Best Animated Movie Big Hero Six (Don Hall, Chris Williams and Roy Conli)
Achievement in Production Design The Grand Budapest Hotel (Adam Stockhausen and Anna Pinnock)
Achievement in Cinematography Birdman (Emannuel Lubezki)
Achievement in Film Editing Whipalsh (Tom Cross)
Best Documentary Feature Citizen Four (Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky)
Best Original Song Glory (John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn)
Best Original Score The Grand Budapest Hotel (Alexandre Desplat)
Best Adapted Screenplay The Imitation Game (Graham Moore)

A Little History About the Academy Awards:

The Academy Awards or The Oscars (the official title was re-branded as The Oscars in 2013 – changed from The Academy Awards) is an annual American awards ceremony that honors cinematic achievements in the film industry.

The various category winners are awarded a copy of a statuette, which is the official Academy Award of Merit (known as Oscar).

The awards were first presented in the year 1929 at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel and was overseen by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other subscribers